1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Front brake problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2011, 05:58 PM
DURANGO24
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front brake problem

I am having a front brake problem on the 98 durango. I've replaced the pads, and the bolts because the previous owner stripped them out so i used the oversized rethreading bolts and when I drive for about 10 miles and take turns after stopping at a light or stop sign it does some kind of vibrating, then i put my foot on the brake and it goes away...but then i let off the brake it does it again. What could this be? It mostly does it on the drivers side but does it on both sides. My ABS light is on but it was on when i got the truck and my speedometer dont work until after about 20 mph. I dont think that has anything to do with it but im no mechanic. Does anyone have any idea what this could be? Thanks!!

Old 02-15-2011, 09:36 PM
shrpshtr325
THE ULTI-MOD
Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

the abs light and speedometer problem are most likely the rear wheel speed sensor on top of the rear differential,

when you did the brakes did you put NEW rotors on it? if not id say they are warped and you need new rotors

Old 02-15-2011, 09:41 PM
DURANGO24

no i didnt but thy was cut tho

Old 02-15-2011, 09:55 PM
shrpshtr325
THE ULTI-MOD
Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

once the rotors are warped the integrity of the material is compromised (the heat/cool cycles that warp the rotors also weaken the intermolecular bonds, this makes the material more brittle, harder too, but more brittle and vulnerable to warping again) it will take very little effort to warp a set of cut rotors a 2nd time if they were warped to begin with

Old 02-15-2011, 10:14 PM
DURANGO24

I dont think they are warped, i guess i forgot to mention that it only does it every once in awhile and at slow speeds and at turns. In example....Stop at a stop sign, turn and it does it. If im just going straight it doesn't do it. =/