1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Not shifting 1-2 2-3 when warm.

Old 12-14-2018, 09:34 PM
TheCableGuy
Rookie
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Not shifting 1-2 2-3 when warm.

Hello there all. New member here, along with a recently purchased 2001 Dodge Durango. 5.9. 46RE. 4WD. Anyway, this is a long post so my apologies. I have read multiple posts/threads on here and I am at my last option.. a post onto the forums. So this truck has 213K. Original engine and trans. I bought it for $1100. The guy who I bought it from is a mechanic by trade and apparently owned his own shop at one point. He did allot of work into it. New radiator. Fuel pump. Rotor/cap, plugs, wires and allot of other little stuff. So originally the problem he had was the transmission slipping all the time. So me, being positive wanted to see if we can fix this. He never got to it because he’s never had the time lately. So we drop the pan, and he said the front band was extremely loose and just needed to be tightened. So new fluid and filter, it doesn’t slip anymore. He never really drove this dodge much and it was only ran a couple miles each day. This fixed the slipping problem.

So so I bought it the day after this. Next morning had a bad leak from the gasket of the trans pan. Turned out he put on the wrong sized gasket. So I bought a Mopar one at the dealer for $60. This fixed the leak. so I use this truck daily for my job. First day of use, having long shifts from 1-2 mostly. I wouldn’t push it last 3000 rpms but feathering the throttle made it shift. Turned out the tv cable was broke somewhere. Bought a new one and this fixed this problem I thought.

So the CEL came on same day while when I got off the highway. Code was P1740. Did my research. Figured I have a bad solenoid or converter. I had autozone clear the code when I found this out, it hasn’t been back in 5 days. Here is the weird problem.