1st Gen Neon 1995 through 1999 Neons

Dodge Shadow Problem

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2010, 04:53 AM
WyomingTrucker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Dodge Shadow Problem

I know this isn't a neon, but the neon was the successor to the Shadow, so I figured I take a shot here.

and I guarantee you've never heard about this kind of problem.

my wife has a 1993 Dodge Shadow, and a while ago it developed this strange problem.

none of the auto electricians in town will touch it.

at first it wouldn't stay running unless the door was open, the sensor was removed because the buzzing was VERY annoying, that worked for a while and now the car wont start at all.

What about the door being opened or closed would permit or prohibit the car from running?

I'm a mechanic, not an electrician, I do know how to do advance audio installations, so a few cutting and splicing jobs dont concern me, but making the car a burning inferno just by starting it IS.

Any ideas?

I don't wanna sell either one of my trucks to get her a new one, and she can't see over the hood of the Explorer Sport (3in lifted off-roader) and she is afraid of my diesel, so her driving them is, yea, not gonna happen.

Let me know please.

Last edited by WyomingTrucker; 01-23-2010 at 04:55 AM. Reason: adding info
Old 01-23-2010, 07:01 AM
grswat
Veteran

Is there an amp wire running through the door jam? I've never heard of it killing the car but I have seen them run through the door before and short out. That was my first thought. My only other thought is a security system or something gone crazy. If it's neither one of these then its a good old fashioned electrical problem. Learn how to use a multimeter really well.

Old 01-23-2010, 12:13 PM
thecause17
Veteran