DodgeForum.com

DodgeForum.com (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/)
-   2nd Gen Dakota Tech (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-dakota-tech-67/)
-   -   2-3 Shifting Problems (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-dakota-tech/140812-2-3-shifting-problems.html)

rchweir 01-06-2008 09:54 PM

2-3 Shifting Problems

Hi there,

I tried looking around the forums a bit to see if I could find and answer but I think I got loaded with too much information (Im not a mechanical guy, so mechanical words scare me)

Anyways, about a week ago, my truck started acting a little weird shifting from 2-3 (auto). It seems like it doesnt want to shift in to 3rd. Sometime when it hits about 3k rpm, ill let off the gas and it shifts in to third, most times it will stay a high rpm for about 3 mins before it decides to shift on its own.

I was told a tranny fluid/filter change might do the trick, a leaking seal,or a modual replacement?, or utimatly a new transmission. Im hoping its not my third/fourth option. The truck has 150 000km on it.

Im just looking for what you guys think before I bring it to a mechanic shop and get charged an astronomical amount, when I could have fixed it for alot cheaper.

Thanks for your help,

Ryan

magnethead 01-07-2008 01:48 PM

RE: 2-3 Shifting Problems

try some lucas tranny fix first. Solved my issue for the 90% part.

master tech 01-07-2008 10:37 PM

The seals in the front drum of your transmission maybe hard, causing fluid to leak pass the seal. 99 percent of the time this will cause a long delay upshift into 3rd gear. You can try lucas to soften the seals or a mopar transmission seal kit.

rchweir 01-07-2008 11:42 PM

alright I went and got some lucas today and put it in. how long does it usually take for me to notice a difference? say if it hasnt improved by next week, should i do a tranny flush?

ConceptX 01-08-2008 10:30 AM