2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Considering a 2000 Dodge Dakota Sport Ext Cab 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2008, 02:11 PM
PeterNC
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering a 2000 Dodge Dakota Sport Ext Cab 4x4

I am considering entering the Dodge Dakota family. I have found a 2000 Dodge Dakota Sport Ext Cab 4x4 with a 3.9L Auto. It has 207,000kms (that's about 130,000miles). The ABS and Brakes lights are on. The doors are hard to open but I believe new door pins will correct this. I can do the brake work myself, but I have never worked on a vehicle with ABS before. The engine has a ticking sound at start up when cold. I read this is normal because of the hydraulic lifters. It almost sounds like an small exhaust manifold leak.

I would appreciate any heads up before buying this truck. I might be able to get it for $2,200! I read the recall about the ball joints but I don't know if they were done on this Dakota. This truck was repossed so I don't have history information for the previous owner.

I also read and heard the 3.9L is sluggish on the highway.

The main uses for this truck (a second vehicle) will be back and forth to work mainly, 10kms one way. I also plan to tow a camper. I read the the towing capacity for it is 4,900lbs.

Any advise would be appreciated, particularly from owners who have this model.

A picture of it is below.

[IMG]local://upfiles/84206/92D496ADA8FE4E4D933DEEDF7ACBBEA5.jpg[/IMG]

Old 02-19-2008, 09:41 AM
Brymac76
Professional
Default RE: Considering a 2000 Dodge Dakota Sport Ext Cab 4x4

Hey Peter,
I have a very similar truck, only mine is a 1997 model.
Chances are with 130k miles on it the ball joints have already been replaced...at least once, so i wouldnt be to worried about them. Mine went bad around 70k, and i have 130k on mine right now as well.