DodgeForum.com

DodgeForum.com (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/)
-   2nd Gen Dakota Tech (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-dakota-tech-67/)
-   -   I need sugestions for a problem I am having. (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-dakota-tech/192396-i-need-sugestions-for-a-problem-i-am-having.html)

GaryC 03-08-2009 03:38 PM

Originally Posted by jared7209 (Post 1578596)
I am a backyard mechanic but I did take so 2 years of auto in HS and I was one of the best in class, but my knowledge stops if I can't see what you are talking about. So whats a MAF sensor?, I don't see that name in the Chilton's manual. I don't think there is any kind of energy loss thru the wires because this truck sits for a week up to 10 days at a time and starts with no problems even when its 0deg out for a week.

Thank you for all of the suggestions an help.

Sorry i didn't explain MAF but someone beat me to it anyway. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSuL5...eature=related
your coil puts out like 24,000 volts ( depending ) and sends it through the wire to the cap and then through the top of the rotor and then back to the cap and then through the plug wire to the top of the plug.
Long way to go and many different contact points which arc the voltage.
Im sure you knew this from school, but another reader may benefit from the explanation. So anyway, the biggest place for voltage/current drop is in the cap and rotor as there IS an arc and carbon build up.
Want to F with a buddy? take a pencil and draw cicles around the cap INSIDE, the graphite will scatter the spark to all cylinders.
the wires also have a graphite core for the current to travel. the wires will break down over time and loose the power given to the plugs.
wires are not gold and should be replaced every 50K.
A couple hundred bucks for a tune up will save you in the long run. dont skimp on parts and think you have it all covered.

big.bryant 03-08-2009 06:13 PM

dude rt, diggin the new sig!