2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

3.9... new guy on the block.. questions. thanks

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2006, 10:08 PM
DieselSmoke
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3.9... new guy on the block.. questions. thanks

hey, this is my first post here. I'll Introduce myself. I'm Trevor Bouma, out of michigan. I'm a 16 yearold highschool student. I'm in need of a truck. being that i like dodges it seemed only right to come here. Actually i have looked at many different models and makes and its hard to beat a dakota in my situation. let me explain.

i currently own a lumina LTZ 3.8 liter, leather and all that BS. anyway this car has 115k on it, and isnt holding up well. besides, what farm boy doesnt want a truck... anyway i'm in search of a truck.

i've been looking at lot and for what i can afford (7000 bux, and under 60 k miles) the only other truck i see is a ford ranger. However, i really like the dodge dakota so i'm here. I've found quite a few of these trucks that fit my discreption, just a plain jane 2 wheel drive, standard cab, shortbox truck. The only thing that concerns me is the 3.9 engine. i've talked to a few mechanics, and owners and have heard mixed reiviews. mechanics say its a rattly, oil sucking money pit, people i've known have said its the gutless wonder, but runs well.? i'm really not to worried about it being gutless, but once i buy this i dont want to be putting money in it everytime i turn around like i'm doing with this car. I figured you guys here have owned them and i'm sure some of you are very knowledgable of them. Whats the real story behind this engine. DO u guys think if i went with a 2001 or newer standard cab short box dakota with a 3.9, and a 5 speed it would be somewhat reliable. the only work purposes i would be having would be pulling my bass boat and hauling my quad. Thanks again in advance for all the help

Old 04-15-2006, 12:44 AM
AlanWS6