2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

vacuum leak/ Burning oil

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2006, 01:57 AM
jamesduke84
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default vacuum leak/ Burning oil

I drive a 99 r/t 5.9L V8. I have two problems.

First, when i bought the truck, about a week later I noticed a little blue smoke coming from the exhaust when I start the truck. I havent taken anything apart yet, but i realized i'm burning about a quart of oil for every 300 to 400 miles, which is horrible. I'm thinkin maybe a/some piston rings are bad? has anyone ever had this problem with their D? I'm only at like 63,000 miles.

Second, I have some sort of air leak. When i was adding oil one day, I noticed a hissing on the passenger side of the engine. When i removed the cap from the valve cover, the noise dissipated and i didnt hear it anymore. However, the air is being sucked in from the hole where the cap goes. I'm no mechanic, not even close to one. But to me, that means that when i seal the air in at the cap, its pulling it in from some hole in the other side of the engine.

Has anyone ever seen any of this before?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Old 09-13-2006, 02:37 AM
kurbycar32
Veteran
Default RE: vacuum leak/ Burning oil

bust out the compression checker! without seeing it this sounds like you have compression leaking into the oil passages, and oil in the cylinder. if this is true then you have blown a head gasket. do a compression test on all of your cylinders and compare it against the specs in your manual. at 63k miles a head gasket should be fine unless you overheated or hauled something you shouldn't have.

Old 09-13-2006, 03:11 AM
horatio102
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Q: What's the most common problem with the 360? (and possibly 318 too, I dunno)

A: Intake plenum gasket failure/leak.