2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Dakota 2004 dashboard lights very dim

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2011, 11:08 AM
dragosani
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dakota 2004 dashboard lights very dim

Hi folks,

Just registered with the site. I searched but needed additional assistance.

Just purchased a 04 Dakota last week - i am loving it. One thing though, the dashboard lights are really dim and almost annoyingly so when driving at night.

Specifically the right side of the dash is dim, gas gauge along with the radio and the heater controls, the left side is alot brighter though.

Any ideas how i can get this so the entire dash is lit up as it should be, so i can see everything. Complete newbie so be kind. Fuses need to be replaced? Seems odd that only a portion of the dash is lit up while the rest is dark as night.

Thanks in advance for any info.

Old 08-31-2011, 12:55 PM
dodgeramguy85
Grand Champion
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by dragosani
Hi folks,

Just registered with the site. I searched but needed additional assistance.

Just purchased a 04 Dakota last week - i am loving it. One thing though, the dashboard lights are really dim and almost annoyingly so when driving at night.

Specifically the right side of the dash is dim, gas gauge along with the radio and the heater controls, the left side is alot brighter though.

Any ideas how i can get this so the entire dash is lit up as it should be, so i can see everything. Complete newbie so be kind. Fuses need to be replaced? Seems odd that only a portion of the dash is lit up while the rest is dark as night.

Thanks in advance for any info.
Does moving the dimmer switch do anything?

Old 08-31-2011, 01:07 PM
1999R/T
Amateur

for starters i would go with bulbs first. the bulbs on that side of the panel might be out. Just an idea....

Old 08-31-2011, 01:19 PM
moparman_2004
All Star
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts