2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Fixing a Dakota/Durango "nO bUS" PCM for under $5!

Old 01-18-2013, 10:13 PM
kstokes
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Fixing a Dakota/Durango "nO bUS" PCM for under $5!

Hey everyone. My first post on this forum - I figured it would be useful to you guys. I'm a fleet manager for a car sharing organization, and I have a heavy background in vehicle electronics.

This will certainly apply to a 1999 Durango or Dakota with the 5.9L, but I imagine the PCM pinout is likely the same for a range of years and engines.

A friend of mine owns a 1999 Durango 5.9L which recently has been stalling on him. It would only do it after idling in traffic for 20+ minutes, and would nearly never do it while driving at speed. When it stalled, the gauges would hang in their last position for a few seconds, fall to zero, the odometer would flash, then "NO BUS" would be displayed on the odometer. Cranking would not make the truck start. After simply waiting for the truck to cool for about ten minutes, it would start without any hesitation.

I ran through the Dodge flow charts and factory wiring diagrams - and one test painted the picture of what was happening. The PCM regulates battery voltage down to 5v which is used to power its internal logic and power its under-the-hood sensors.

Symptoms:

-Truck stalling, NO BUS displayed
-When the truck is in its working state (starts and runs), 5 volts is present at the violet/white wire at the throttle position sensor with the key in the run position
-When truck is in it's failed (won't start) state, the violet/white wire at the throttle position sensor only has about 0.4 volts at it, with the key in the run position

With that, it is safe to assume that one of two things is happening: