2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

New Guy Questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2015, 02:43 PM
camijack63
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Guy Questions

So, not only am I new to the Dakota forums, Im new to the Dakota. 03 Quad Cab 2x2. Just bought it with 125K and everything seems pretty tight with it. I have noticed a few things I wanted to run by the experts.....you guys. The dash panel where the climate control ***** are is dark at night. There seems to be 1 light by the temp control **** and thats it, the rest is dark. Should it be brighter (yes the dome switch is all the way up without having the dome light come on). If so, is it easy to replace the bulbs?. And finally. I'd like to replace the brakes and have the rotors turned. Ive read that sometimes its easier/cheaper to just replace the rotor as opposed to finding someone to "turn" them. Im somewhat mechanically inclined but dont want to get in over my head. The dealer wanted $600////////per axle. Thanks

Old 07-10-2015, 04:14 PM
98DAKAZ
Champion
Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts
Thumbs up

The brakes are an easy job back and front if the rotors and or drums are ok parts can be as low as $50 the dash lights I would say just needs a few new bulbs.

Just remember to be sure the caliper pistons are pumped up before you drive or you may be shocked when your brake pedal goes all the way to the floor and scares you bad.

Been their done that not fun

$600 that's crazy high most shops should charge around $300 MAX for everything. You can go easy on yourself and have a shop do the rear if they are drum brakes as all those springs suck and fix the front yourself they are very easy.

Last edited by 98DAKAZ; 07-10-2015 at 04:34 PM.
Old 07-10-2015, 05:13 PM
camijack63