Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Cars > Dodge Intrepid > 2nd Gen Intrepid
Reload this Page >

Engine will not beyond 3000 RPM sometimes!

2nd Gen Intrepid 1998 through 2004 Intrepids

Engine will not beyond 3000 RPM sometimes!

  #1  
Old 04-14-2011, 04:19 PM
fduraibi's Avatar
fduraibi
fduraibi is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 11
Question Engine will not go beyond 3000 RPM sometimes!

My engine started acting weird sometimes. So the "Check Engine" light comes on and the engine will not go beyond 3000 RPM even when I am driving. Sometimes it will even stop while driving (but it will start again by itself since the car is still moving) or when I stop at traffic lights. And this keeps on happening like once or twice a day, and most of the time it is working fine and no "check engine". Not sure what is wrong with it.

Here i posted a video of the gauges when it happened and as you can see that it will not go beyond 3000 RPM.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIkTMTP8-C8

Is it an easy to fix thing? or should I start looking for another car?

My Car: Intrepid 2001 SE 2.7L
Milage: ~129000
 

Last edited by fduraibi; 04-16-2011 at 11:05 AM. Reason: Fixing a typo and the video link
  #2  
Old 04-18-2011, 07:07 PM
'87IROCZOWNER
'87IROCZOWNER is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 27
Default

If you looked down a few more threads you would have noticed my thread where I had the same problem. I fixed it by replacing the Camshaft position sensor which is like $32 at autozone and is REALLY esay to replace. It's on the front of the engine and all you do is unplug it and unscrew the screw that holds it in, pull it out, and throw the new one in, plug it in, and screw it in. That's it! Takes like 5 min to do.

FYI wait til your engine cools down because I burned my hand like 20 times while doing it.
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-2011, 11:33 AM
TNtech's Avatar
TNtech
TNtech is offline
Site Moderator-Dodge Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,706
Default

It's not going to go past that RPM in park or neutral. It's a rev limiter. Your CEL is on for a totally different reason.
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-2011, 12:15 PM
fduraibi's Avatar
fduraibi
fduraibi is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 11
Default

TNtech: the car does that while i am driving too, i just took the video while stopping since it was the same behavior and i did not wanna drive while recording.

'87IROCZOWNER: I think this is the problem, the camshaft sensor, since I found a way (from another website) on how to display some of the PCM error codes on the odometer and it showed (P 0340) and when i looked that up in the manual it says:
340 - No camshaft signal being received by the computer

I got one from "Advance Auto Parts" for $35 and will install it today
 
  #5  
Old 04-24-2011, 02:41 AM
'87IROCZOWNER
'87IROCZOWNER is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 27
Default

Originally Posted by fduraibi View Post
TNtech: the car does that while i am driving too, i just took the video while stopping since it was the same behavior and i did not wanna drive while recording.

'87IROCZOWNER: I think this is the problem, the camshaft sensor, since I found a way (from another website) on how to display some of the PCM error codes on the odometer and it showed (P 0340) and when i looked that up in the manual it says:
340 - No camshaft signal being received by the computer

I got one from "Advance Auto Parts" for $35 and will install it today
How'd that work out for ya?
 
  #6  
Old 04-24-2011, 11:19 PM
kurts2
kurts2 is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 916
Default

If the CEL is on, see what fault is being detected.
 
  #7  
Old 04-26-2011, 10:48 AM
fduraibi's Avatar
fduraibi
fduraibi is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 11
Default

Everything is working fine now. no CEL, no sudden stops or rev issues. So i am almost sure that the camshaft sensor was the cause of the problem.


BTW, Is there a way where i can delete the stored PCM fault codes? or I need a special device to do that? or will they disappear after a certain time?
 
  #8  
Old 04-26-2011, 08:12 PM
'87IROCZOWNER
'87IROCZOWNER is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 27
Default

Originally Posted by fduraibi View Post
Everything is working fine now. no CEL, no sudden stops or rev issues. So i am almost sure that the camshaft sensor was the cause of the problem.


BTW, Is there a way where i can delete the stored PCM fault codes? or I need a special device to do that? or will they disappear after a certain time?
If you go to Autozone they have this tool called the OBD 2 tool. It is used to scan codes but it can also be used to remove codes. Once the codes are cleared then new codes will pop up if there are any. So, just go into Autozone and ask them if they can clear your codes for you.
 
  #9  
Old 05-23-2019, 01:56 PM
Oliveronski Oliveronski
Oliveronski Oliveronski is offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Default etc

same scenario for me. no codes. but throttle light came on. i changed the throttle and fixed the problem
 
  #10  
Old 05-24-2019, 09:42 AM
TNtech's Avatar
TNtech
TNtech is offline
Site Moderator-Dodge Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,706
Default

8 YEARS AND 1 MONTH Thread Resurrection. This MUST be a record !
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Engine will not beyond 3000 RPM sometimes!


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: