2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

'94 Dodge Ram 1500, engine bogs down.

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2009, 10:26 PM
Eagilejin
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '94 Dodge Ram 1500, engine bogs down.

Alright, so I'll start my story. I'm a entry level tech for marine engines, which means I know enough to get myself into trouble, and sometimes out of trouble. I do know this could easy become a big problem and cost a lot of money.

Anyways, here is the issue. Was driving today doing about 55, I noticed I'm losing speed, so I hit the gas. Nothing happened. I pump the pedal, no response. I floor it, the engine bogs. So, my first guess was "Great, I'm out of gas."

I pull over and call people, eventually my sister shows up. Skip ahead an hour to where I am able to put some gas in it. Crank her up, and she runs like utter crap.

I leave her idling and pop the hood, check the oil, transmission fluid, water etc etc. Look for anything obvious see nothing.

She seems to be missing almost, but not quite. I know losing one cylinder would not do this to a V8. Those things can run on 7 and be happy about life.

So, I get in it and drop it into gear, she is slow to accelerate, I give her any amount of gas besides a hair on the pedal she bogs down and either backfires or lean pops. I eventually get up to 40, which took awhile and make it to my moms where the truck is now parked.

No check engine light came on at all, and no new lights on the dash are on. My first thought would be a fuel issue somewhere, and of course to my luck the pump and filter are inside the dang gas tank.

A small note - I've always had issues with my fuel gauge acting up, a few days ago it complete dropped below empty and now refuses to move.