2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

strange pattern im noticing

Old 04-05-2012, 10:27 PM
Motorizer
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default strange pattern im noticing

OK I say this is a strange pattern lately to me because I'm not a mechanic or anyting. But I have notices 1-2 times out of every 10 starts on my 97 Ram it stuggles to start. i hope I'm not being too vague on what i'm noticing. But does this mean that either A my starter is going out. B my starter cylanoid is going out. Or can it be something diffrerent all together?

Old 04-05-2012, 10:28 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,168 Likes on 2,922 Posts

Might even be the battery. You can get the starter and battery tested at most any parts store.

Old 04-05-2012, 10:40 PM
Motorizer
Professional

Originally Posted by HeyYou
Might even be the battery. You can get the starter and battery tested at most any parts store.

Alright I will give that a try. Thank you HeyYou I can always count you for a replie

Old 04-06-2012, 12:03 AM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

also check the battery terminals. clean terminals of any corrosion.

describe the no start - is it that "the starter doesn't turn", or it turns slow, or you hear a clicking/fluttering noise?
or
the starter turns the engine just fine but it won't run?

Last edited by dhvaughan; 04-06-2012 at 12:36 PM.
Old 04-06-2012, 12:48 AM
Johnny2Bad
Professional

If the battery is sulphated, it will fail the load test at the shop. Three guesses as to what they will suggest you do next. Bring your wallet.