2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

318 running rough cant track it down!!

Old 04-23-2013, 01:05 AM
Crossmaster567
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry 318 running rough cant track it down!!

So. Farely new here but use the forums often. Ill start by being honest. Last Thursday I brought my pickup off road and made the mistake of getting her pretty wet •__•. She ended up dieing on the trail but she fired back up and ever since then she's been giving me issues. I've watched all sorts of you tube videos and been on every forum Ive seen and still can't figure it out. As a mechanic I figured no problem. Check all the fluids and let her dry out. No. Hah. She idles rough but only when she at running temperature. Same with going down the road. Once she's warm there's no good power. She'll just buck and pop and fall on its face unless I throw it in Mistral and give it to her. The idle is sporadic at times. I first though it was the IAC and replaced it. No difference. So I went and did the intake gaskets coolant sensor's mechanical oil pressure gauge. Cleaned the TB and the intake, oil change. Checked every plug in for proper voltage and I checked all fuses. Checked every vacume line and checked for leaks and nothing. Maybe I got water in my tank? Coil? I've got a new coil I'm replacing tomorrow but Jeeze. Mind boggled. Even has a nearby shop look at it and they were stumped.
Also, she's running very rich. Which doesn't help any.

DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE TO DO! I've done everything I can think of but take a fuel sample and change the coil. Everything I did such as the gaskets and sensors. The gaskets looked pretty bad anyway and I ran into a broken temp sensor. If anyone have any ideas feel free to share!!

Old 04-23-2013, 02:07 AM
Matt Nickerson
Record Breaker