2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Engine Removal...Best Method

Old 09-27-2013, 10:15 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,168 Likes on 2,922 Posts

Remove the crank position sensor before pulling the motor. They tend to become victims if you don't.

Old 09-27-2013, 11:21 AM
getdown78
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by EFS463
Ok guys, I finally got the break I was looking for. I am a 19 year old technician at a local shop. Ive been there for a year now and my boss is finally going to test my ability and let me try to swap a motor on my own. I have a 10 hour shift on saturday and I am hoping to have it in, out, and running. In the past I have helped our master tech, so I know of the basis of engine pulling but I wanted to ask some of you a bit more wise a few questions.

Truck I am swapping is a 2001 Ram 1500, 2wd, auto trans. truck DOES have AC. Is there anything really that tricky about pulling the motors out of these second gens? I have never been around when one has been done in one of these trucks. any good trucks or tips you could provide me, or any helpful advice? my main question is, is it easier on these trucks to pull the engine and trans out together, or just pull the engine and leave the trans in the truck?

I am a bit nervous and want to impress my boss as well as beat the flat rate for it (about 13 hours), so any advice helps. I am very ambitious about my career as an automotive tech and I hope this goes smoothly. I cant see it taking me 13 hours to pull it swap over the parts and get her back in but thats why I want to check with you guys! Any information is much appreciated. Thank you very much in advance.