2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

5.9 magnum build

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2013, 09:32 PM
cootersdream96
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.9 magnum build

hey guys im new to this here forum and have some questions about building my 1996 5.9 magnum. I want to get around 400 HP but im not sure what parts work well with eachother and havnt really found any parts period. if any one has a good build list or some ideas it would be much appreciated

Old 10-14-2013, 09:53 PM
AppelH
Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Best bet for that much power is probably a 408 stroker. Don't know much about them except it will make your truck into a monster

Old 10-14-2013, 10:36 PM
jasonw
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 21 Likes on 11 Posts

Welcome to DF. Moving you to the correct location.

For future reference:
https://dodgeforum.com/forum/dodge-r...ead-first.html

Old 10-14-2013, 11:57 PM
AtomicDog
Champion
Received 299 Likes on 283 Posts

+1 for the 408 kit to easily obtain that power level. See the link for an example kit:

http://ohiocrank.com/mopar_rotate.html

Old 10-15-2013, 12:10 AM
Ham Bone
Champion
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Tons of good threads on here do some searching.

Engine building is not "here's the list out it all together" tons of factors at Into how and what is used. What are you trying to do? Towing? Racing? Street/track? Mudder? Does it have to be DD? What about gas mileage?

All these things and more can drastically change things depending on what route you want your truck to be

Old 10-15-2013, 05:01 AM
Wildman4x4nut
Record Breaker
Received 149 Likes on 114 Posts

Answer Ham Bones questions so we can help you out.