2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Which type Spark Plug Wires and fuel filter 1999

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2018, 10:43 PM
clarissa otto
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which type Spark Plug Wires and fuel filter 1999

Hello everyone, I need to buy a few parts for a tune up and spend hours searching and calling auto part stores and no one seems to know the exact parts I need? I am new to this as my neighbor is going to help me to fix the current engine issues. I have all the other parts but am stuck with these:

I am looking for Spark Plug Wires and don’t know if I need short or long ones?
Which fuel filter?

I have a 1999 Dodge Ram 1500 5.2 V8 Magnum RWD

Thank you so much helping out a beginner !

Old 12-11-2018, 11:09 PM
Ramman18
Champion
Received 108 Likes on 93 Posts

Every shop should know what you need if you give them the engine size as they sell them in a pre-made kit. There is no short or long. Some are long, some medium, some short. Better yet, go to Napa and get their Select brand. No need for fancy 8mm or anything. I like the 7mm Napa wires. Just do one at a time and match up the length.

There is no fuel filter on our trucks. There is a sock that is attached to the pump inside the tank. If you aren't having any fuel or starting issues, leave it.

Other tune up parts: Champion RC12LC4 or RC12YC (short nose), brass cap and rotor (again Napa), and clean the throttle body and IAC. After that, there isn't much to do!

Old 12-12-2018, 10:41 AM
clarissa otto

Thank you so much. I had gone to several stores and they weren’t sure. I will follow your suggestions and buy from NAPA

Old 12-13-2018, 07:45 AM
rayaa3
Professional

stores 'weren't sure' is kind of interesting...