3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Busted front drive shaft?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2018, 08:55 AM
Kdavidson
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Busted front drive shaft?

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum and I want to learn more about doing repairs myself (if it's feasible). I am still learning everything so bear with me!

My husband took my Honda Civic down to Oklahoma this weekend to visit his mom, and left me with his 2005 Dodge Dakota. I was fine with that because his truck has the option for 4WD, and it's snowing here. Everything was going great until I was heading home from work on the highway, when I heard this awful metallic clanking sound. Almost sounded like a jack hammer at fast speeds.The truck also vibrated. So I took a side rode home going under 30 mph because that's when the vibrations got really bad. I was not in 4WD when this happened but the sound happened in 2WD AND 4WD.

Anyway, I crawled under the truck the next morning and I think I found the problem. I think I'm looking at the front drive shaft, and the CV joint seems to be nearly severed? It's very loose and I can move it around a lot. Do you think the CV joint just needs to be replaced, or should I do the whole front drive shaft? Assuming I identified it correctly. I've been looking at videos and pictures online, trying to figure it out. Haven't been able to get it to a mechanic yet...not sure if I should have it towed or if it's safe to drive at slow speeds. We just spent $1400 getting the steering column fixed, so I want to try to tackle this ourselves and try to save money if possible. Below is a video of the problem.

Thanks for your help! Katie

Facebook Post

Old 01-14-2018, 09:00 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,174 Likes on 2,927 Posts

Video doesn't show.

Can you post a pic of the shaft?