3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Want Some Fender Flares Without Getting a Mortgage…

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2017, 05:19 PM
eichhornj
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Want Some Fender Flares Without Getting a Mortgage…

Newbie here.Just got a 2005 Dakota SLT Club/Extended cab with a 6’6’ bed. Moving up from my old 2002 SXT regular cab. Any way I bought this car back in the Midwest and has rust around the rear wheel wells. I went to two quality body shops here in Denver and they want between $1,200 and $1,400. Both shops said that I could expect to see more issues in a few years. Then I got some Craigslist’s quotes and they were at $925 and $950. The truck has 100k on the odometer and to me doesn’t justify that kind of money for a short term fix.

Then I started a lip stick on pig quest for fender flares. I have spent hours looking for the fender flares to fit this model. I can find lots of choices for the short bed but only one product, Bushwhacker at $490, for my bed. I do need a rather beefy product as the rust on one side goes up 4-1/2 inches. Anyone know of something less expensive? What are the views about grinding off the rust and putting on a rust inhibitor before installation?

Any thoughts or suggestions would be very appreciated.

Thank you for your time and feedback.

Old 10-27-2017, 09:36 PM
primem
Record Breaker
Received 55 Likes on 50 Posts

have to agree; $500 plus for molded plastic...what should be $250 worth of fender flares....add $400 to have them paint to match

cheapest way is to fill it with fiberglass body filler...sand it smooth and then spray it with bedliner...won't look as nice as flares but its decent and $100

Old 10-28-2017, 07:37 PM
ODXBeef
Professional
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts