Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2012, 07:23 AM
Larry Lives
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3rd Gen Questions!

Hi All!
Noob here...
Im a suite by day and a Garage mechanic by night (and weekend).
I have worked on all cars, trucks, bikes etc...

Heres my "question"
I have an appointment at my local dealer to drive both the 2012 V6 & V8 Hemi.
I know the Hemi has a 6 speed trans, and with all my highway driving this might be the way to go for me. Im excited to see the difference in the 5 and 6 speed trans, at about 75 or 80 on the highway, wonder where RPMs will be...

The ideal Durango for me would be a Hemi 4X4 Crew, but based on the packages and options that are standard I might just go with the RT.

Any advice for the new guy? (me).
Thanks!!

Old 03-03-2012, 08:02 AM
shelbymopar89
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Welcome, I hope you find a D that you like. I hate to let the cat out of the bag but ole Mother Mopar pulled a marketing fast one on the whole 5/6 speed thing. The old one was also a "6" speed. Check out this link, long story short is the final drive is the same.
https://dodgeforum.com/forum/3rd-gen...w-6-speed.html Good luck and let us know if you pick one up!

Old 03-03-2012, 10:15 AM
sidewinder9m
Veteran

+1 the 5/6 speed is a marketing ploy....but if you can wait the 8 speed tranny will be fitted to the D in the near future.

Old 03-03-2012, 11:35 AM
Larry Lives
Rookie

Originally Posted by shelbymopar89
Welcome, I hope you find a D that you like. I hate to let the cat out of the bag but ole Mother Mopar pulled a marketing fast one on the whole 5/6 speed thing. The old one was also a "6" speed. Check out this link, long story short is the final drive is the same.
https://dodgeforum.com/forum/3rd-gen...w-6-speed.html Good luck and let us know if you pick one up!
Gotcha, yea ratios is what really matters... Thanks! Good info!
Anyone else?

Old 03-07-2012, 02:01 PM
BCC171