3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

DESTROYED the threads on crankshaft bolt

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2016, 02:26 PM
ramjamhemi
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DESTROYED the threads on crankshaft bolt

Had to replace the timing cover gasket on my 2005 hemi Ram. Things went well until I re-assembled the harmonic balancer. Embarrassed to admit that I am a mechanical engineer.... Rather than using the approved install tool, I oiled up the crank snout and balancer, lined it up, and gently hammered it on using a block of wood. Once it had moved enough to get 2-3 threads of the bolt started, I used the breaker bar to spin the bolt down (this is the original bolt. It's not clear to me if this is a torque to yield that I should have replaced or not...). I even alternated between hitting it with the hammer and tightening the bolt a couple of times just to make sure I was not galling the threads. The bolt was spinning down as well as could be expected. Once it stated to take more effort, I broke out the torque wrench and set it to 250lb. Wrench clicked, and I though I was done. Looked up and noticed the balancer was not lined up with the power steering pulley. Though I might have caught a burr between the balancer and crank snout, so I started taking it back apart to see what was up. Start loosening the crank bolt with the breaker bar, and after 1/2 turn, it started taking MORE effort to unbolt it! I alternated back and forth a couple of times between tightening and loosening, hoping to break it loose, but no luck. That bolt is seized to the crank pretty good. I'm afraid to keep working on it as I am putting so much force into trying to turn it, the bolt might break off.