Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. Let's hear about it here.

Here's what I did in my Ram

Old 07-20-2006, 08:31 PM
DieselDemon
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Here's what I did in my Ram

Hello folks. I have a 95' Ram, standard cab. Over the years I have made MANY mods to my truck. The latest was the stereo. I can tell ya what I did and and what I have learned. I am no expert but I think I have one of the loudest, and most crisp stereo systems on the planet. Here we go.

My head unit is an Alpine 9835

I have four (4) Infinity Kappa 6x9's (693.7I) One in each door, and one behind each seat. The rear are mounted in shallow 6x9 boxes stuffed with sound foam. My original storage system behind the seat has all been removed. I have also removed my center seat and console. Behind the two rear brackets for the center seat, I had enough room for a single Audiobahn AlumQ10. It is in a bandpass box and fits perfectly without a single mod. It is a dual voice coil with a 3 ohm rating each. This means I must have a 1 ohm stable mono amp

My Amps are as follows.

Infinity 7540A. In a 4 ohm load, this amp would put out 111 watts x 4 TRUE rms. (CEA compliant) Since my kappas are a 2 ohm load, they get pushed with 139 watts each. Alomost 30 watts over their continuos program rating. Remember, power doesn't kill a speaker. Noise and distortion do. The cleaner the signal, the better the system sounds. And good sound must be accompanied by power. Lots of it.

My sub amp is an MTX 6500D. I have three of these amps. 1 being used, and 2 brand news ones because they were discontinued. Just an AMAZING amp. My sub gets hit with almost 700watts. I personally feel that the Infintys are the best midrange/high speakers you can get, and the Audiobahns, to me anyway, have the best sound and mine gets a workout.