Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

2000 Grand Caravan Transmission Problems

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2013, 12:11 AM
dodgeram33
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Grand Caravan Transmission Problems

Sorry for the long post but it is very important

My 2000 Grand Caravan SE has been having some troubles lately. It has 209K miles on it and the engine runs great. Im a high school student and i use my school's auto servicing lab to fix up my car. Great opportunity to learn.

Just about a week ago i noticed that the tranny was shifting a little hard. I thought it was just cold until it warmed and started really shifting hard to where the van would lurch forward when it upshifted. Downshifting was fine, it was the upshifts that had trouble. the worst shifts were from 1 to 2 and from 2 to 3, occasionally doing it into 4th.

Jacked the van up on the lift, dropped the pan and changed the filter and fixed a couple leaks with some gasket sealant. Poured 4 quarts back in and added a torque converter instant shudder fix. Drove it for a couple miles and it seemed to fix it until it warmed up fully and the shifting got worse.

Let it sit in the driveway for a couple hours to let it cool off and drove it back to the shop where i use the lift. The van clunked into gear and would consistently lurch when going into gear. After a while the van was stuck in second gear and as i've heard on other forums "limp mode". Got it back to the shop and shut it off It smelled hot (almost like it was burning), checked the fluid, the level was fine but it was dark red (had a slight burned twinge to it). The check engine light was on.