Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

[5th Gen : 08+]: 2014 Tire Inflator

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2014, 02:15 PM
jferello
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2014 Tire Inflator

Hey all, bad news today My 2014 got a puncture on the way to work today, I couldn't believe it. I have been driving for 16 years and never had a flat, but I buy a new van 3 weeks ago and bam!

Anyway I got the silly inflator kit instead of the spare tire. I tried the kit and it did nothing, even thogh it was a small puncture right in the middle of the tread.

I ended up getting it towed to PepBoys, they cleaned the inside of the tire out of the useless sealant and put a plug with cement in.

So here are my questions:

1) The TPMS system will not go off. The technician said he filled the tire to 35psi and I drove about 6 miles after the work and it has not turned off. Is the sensor destroyed?

2) If the sensor needs to be replaced, would that be covered under the warranty, since I used their stupid inflator kit? It doesn't say anywhere in their documentation that it would wreck the sensor.

3) After this, I want to get a real tire. Do I need to get the full Mopar tire kit, or just find the right tire/wheel and hang it under the van?

Thanks,
Justin

Old 01-17-2014, 12:25 PM
Tizzy1
Champion
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

should be covered under warranty unless the "Pep Boys" broke it removing and installing your tire, the most likely culprit.

I would think there is quite a bit that goes into adding the spare tire. It stows between the front seats. Need to see it the winch is there. Then there is an upper shield. The carrier for the tire and the tire and rim itself. It is a mini spare, that is all that will fit there.

Old 01-19-2014, 10:43 PM
jferello
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts