DodgeForum.com

DodgeForum.com (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/)
-   Dodge Charger (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/dodge-charger-74/)
-   -   Dyno's and Synthetic (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/dodge-charger/73137-dynos-and-synthetic.html)

baldyloxs 09-12-2006 03:24 AM

Dyno's and Synthetic

I have a guy at work used Royal Purple and gained 6 more rwhp off the dyno.In the same setting guys who had dyno did a marquise on reg oil at 181rwhp,then drained put in Mobil1 Syn. and went up to 196rwhp.I guess that Synthectics do contribute to more RWHP.Any thoughts on this from you guys?

Marty

74scamp 09-12-2006 09:26 PM

RE: Dyno's and Synthetic

Marty - no foolin'? That's 15 hp with the Mobil 1. I guess the numbers don't lie. I have no real world experience on this subject, but that much extra hp should make a noticeable difference.

dave

baldyloxs 09-13-2006 04:27 AM

No foolin Dave he was amazed also,he watched them change the oil in it .

mnboy 09-13-2006 12:20 PM

Baldy,

Sounds right from what the ricer boys tell me around here. Slippery stuff. The ricers, with their hot turbos, like the extra heat synthectics will tolerate. Royal Purple is very popular here with the younger set with their high revving 4 and 6 motors. My son has been trying to talk me into it for some time. Just like you, when I heard they allow the motor to spin better, I think my next change may be Royal Purple. However, so far, they do not make an auto transmission lube for the newer LX platforms. GM, Ford, Toyota have it, but not for us yet...

My only hold back has been price.

:)

MN

74scamp 09-13-2006 02:21 PM

Yeah, the price has held me back as well. However, I think I will have to try some of that Mobile 1 stuff and see what happens.:) Will try to do it before I go to the track. Oh, its supposed to be windy as all get out here on Saturday. [:@] That's when we were going to the track. So we'll have to see........

dave

440nix 09-13-2006 03:16 PM