Dodge Journey Dodge Journey forum for discussion on the popular Dodge Crossover and CUV.

resonator delete

Old 12-22-2013, 05:49 PM
bigunclejethro
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default resonator delete

Hi all,

I'm new to the Journey club, just bought a 2013 SXT Blacktop. I put on a cai and it sounds great, but the stock exhaust doesn't exactly make a great noise. I want a little more rumble out of it without it being too loud inside or sounding like a richer, so I was looking into doing the resonator delete. Anyone with a journey done this yet? If so, where are the resonators and how much of a pain is it to do this? Will it void my warranty doing this?

Old 12-23-2013, 12:23 PM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 334 Likes on 298 Posts

Welcome to DF! Congrats on the purchase. I have no idea if these cars have resonators. Guess you might be the first to find out. Can't figure it would impact the warranty, nothing different than putting another muffler on it. You might check first though. Post up some pics of your ride, especially the CAI. I'm interested in getting one. Did you custom make it?

Old 12-23-2013, 12:31 PM
bigunclejethro

From what I've read they either have a muffler and resonator or two mufflers, but I've seen some videos of people with avengers and chargers removing the back resonators/mufflers and it sounds pretty good, I just wanna be sure that I'm going to like it before I cut up my brand new car. The CAI is actually meant for a 2013 avenger it's the typhoon kit I ordered it from summit. The install is super easy and I made a simple bracket just to hold it in place. Ill post some pics tonight

Old 12-24-2013, 11:30 AM
bigunclejethro

Jkeaton, I uploaded a few more pics including one of my cai. I did not have to modify the car at all, just added a piece of steel to pull the box away from the washer fluid box. Its not really needed I just like the extra security.