Dodge Journey Dodge Journey forum for discussion on the popular Dodge Crossover and CUV.

My experience with a local dealership service department “had police involved”

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2017, 10:23 AM
15DodgeJourney
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My experience with a local dealership service department “had police involved”

Hi Guys, a Dodge newbie here. I have an amazing Dodge Journey 2015. I have since it had 40 k miles, and now at 75k miles, it started hesitating and jerking while driving 50+ mph.

Here is the condensed version of my experience with this dealership, before I give someone a headache:

I dropped off the car due to the engine hesitating and jerking. They informed me that the diagnostic fee is $113. I said OK, they call me later and say, “you are right, the tech confirmed that the engine is jerking, we want an additional $360 to diagnose the problem”.

I refused and went to pick up the car, since the original agreement is to diagnose for $113 and then they need to quote me on the repair. They tried to quote me additional $360 for the diagnosis. I understand that the tech might take many more hours to do the diagnosis, but I don’t want to spend a chunk of $$$ just for the diagnosis, so I just said no, I will take it somewhere else.

When I tried to pick up the car, they held my keys until I pay the $113. I refused since there was no service delivered, there was no diagnosis other than “you are right, the car is jerking”. That’s a breach of the original agreement.

I informed the manager that I’m calling the police and so I did, 5 minutes later, the manager came back and said, we are waiving the fee. Here are your keys. I called the police back and let them know that the issue is resolved and no need to come in.

***Extended version:

Me: "Dropping off the car to be checked as it seems the engine is hesitating and jerking when accelerating".