Dodge Magnum The Dodge Magnum, the wagon that made wagons cool. The unique look of the Dodge Magnum makes any trim level, from SE to SRT-8, an absolute head turner.

05 Magnum R/T Stalling at Idle. Won't idle under 1200 RPM's

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2014, 09:25 PM
bigcdiver2000
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry 05 Magnum R/T Stalling at Idle. Won't idle under 1200 RPM's

Alrighty all. I am new to the sight and relatively new to Dodge ownership. This past year I purchased a 2005 Magnum R/T with the 5.7L Hemi. 150k miles, but in great shape, had all maint logs from the state, as it was a former Highway Patrol vehicle since new. On Xmas eve while driving I started to feel a hesitation and at the very next light it stalled out on me. It would only restart after that if I floor the gas, and feather it over 1500 RPMs, once it drops under 1200 it stalls back out. Only codes that pulled were P0456 and P0457, over the past week I have replaced the fuel pump assembly, Throtle Body, Battery Terminals, Battery (2 months ago, NVLD pump, Cam positioning sensor, Crank positioning sensor, and the IAT sensor. Im 100% out of thoughts as to why it still won't start or idle on it's own. Also nearly out of money now.

PLEASE any HELP!!!

Old 01-07-2014, 07:56 PM
bigcdiver2000

Update: Even though I've had no responses and continued to work on it one idea at a time.

So I had a friends start the car with the gas peddle pressed and feathered it to keep RPMs at around 1500 so it wouldn't drop and stall out again. While doing this I tested voltage to the TB (Pink/Yellow) wire, and am getting the required 5 volts.