Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Lift Pump Pressure Test

Old 02-07-2011, 10:20 PM
flyboy86q
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lift Pump Pressure Test

Howdy;
I have an 01 2500. I am a Ford tech, and was at work with nothing to do the other day so i decided to hook a pressure gauge to the fuel system to check the lift pump, however I'm not sure where exactly the proper place is to plug the gauge. For this test I just plugged into the little port on the front of the fuel filter housing. Will this location work for an accurate reading of the lift pump? It was showing about 15-17 psi at idle and according to my spectators it dropped to 5psi at WOT, but they said it "looked" like it wanted to drop a little farther as it was climbing. Is it better to slowly add the throttle to WOT, or just give it to it? it is the factory lift pump, truck has 71,000 on it.

Thanks in Advance.

Old 02-08-2011, 09:42 AM
stodg73
Amateur

This is where you can hook up the pressure tester.
Name:  SchreaderValveonVP2.jpg
Views: 715
Size:  47.7 KB

You can see the schreader valve cap. This is where to test the pressure for the lift pump. The pressure needs to be at least 14psi at idle, preferably more. This way the fuel helps in cooling the VP.

The stock lift pumps can barely keep up at WOT, this is the reason that most change them out. Also, most of the OEM lift pumps can fail, even though you can hear it run, it may be broken. The impeller on the OEM pump breaks, comes off, etc.
As to the going slowly or full bore, that is up to you. Here is some interesting reading about gauges for you: Gauge Information

Old 02-09-2011, 09:58 PM
flyboy86q