Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

5.9B rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2011, 07:44 PM
NCC74656
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.9B rebuild

I am planing to rebuild the engine on my next truck once i buy it. im new to the diesel scene and am fairly new to advanced auto work.

it will be a 24V I6 in a 2nd gen ram. I want to push more power out of it for hauling and off road action. my goal is to have <400HP and 600ft/lbs of torque. this will be used for on road daily driver for at least the winter parts of the year. id like to keep double didget MPG. if possable ive read that people have a switch to change between computer programing in there trucks. one for high mpg daily drive and one for max torque and power when hauling or off road use.

what is a good brand/website for quality diesel parts and how would you recommend achieving these results and am i talking in the realm of reality or fantasy for my plan?

i found a rebuild kit online but am not sure if its any good or meant for the performance i want to achieve? this is the kit: http://www.dieselautopower.com/produ...uild%20kit.htm

thanks.

Old 04-28-2011, 01:07 AM
dodgetruck2
All Star
Received 33 Likes on 32 Posts