Commercial Cummins computer upgrade - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > Dodge/Ram Diesel
Reload this Page > Commercial Cummins computer upgrade
Notices
Dodge/Ram Diesel Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Commercial Cummins computer upgrade

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 01-08-2014, 11:02 PM
Blacknights
Blacknights is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 297
Default Commercial Cummins computer upgrade

Hi guys,
I'm normally on the Dakota sub-forum, but I was wondering if yall could help me. I'm a volunteer firefighter and my department has two fire apparatus that have baseline Cummins engine in it, I believe they are either a ISB6.7 or ISL9 in it. Regardless it isn't something that is in a stock 2500 or 3500, you'd find these in a medium duty line up. The guys in my department are having a problem with when we're fully loaded (gear, water, people, etc.), we've got the torque but not the horsepower. Example is we can make it up a steep hill (6-7 percent grade I think) but only at 35 mph. Well they've been asking around to try and find a performance computer or something to give it some desperately needed hp. I thought to ask on here, I'm hoping a few of yall out here might be also on the industrial side (CDL A/B) of Cummins and could lend a hand. We're a district of volunteer rural firefighter so we do this on a budget, and replacing an engine or apparatus is way far out of the question.

Any advice or anything is greatly appreciated. Thank you to any who can! If you want to feel free to PM me.
 

Last edited by Blacknights; 01-08-2014 at 11:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2014, 12:05 PM
Jigabop's Avatar
Jigabop
Jigabop is offline
Champion
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 3,065
Default

first you have to figure out exactly what motor it is.

then probably do some injectors and a small turbo upgrade to give it a little more smooth reliable power.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2014, 06:34 PM
Blacknights
Blacknights is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 297
Default

Ya I will, I'm just out of the state visiting my parents. What do you mean by small turbo upgrade?
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2014, 11:53 AM
Jigabop's Avatar
Jigabop
Jigabop is offline
Champion
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 3,065
Default

depends on the motor really...if it has a VGT, then there isn't any need for a turbo upgrade unless you go big in performance, but if it is a motor with a tiny turbo, you may need a slightly bigger one to make sure EGTs are always in check when you add more fuel.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Vladek
2nd Gen Dakota
19
06-28-2017 01:20 PM
DerekShiekhi
Brand News, Concepts & Rumors
5
10-29-2015 05:08 PM
John White
2nd Gen Ram Tech
3
09-18-2015 08:39 AM
Duh1
2nd Gen Dakota
9
09-06-2015 11:19 AM
FRR
Dodge Caravan
0
09-03-2015 02:08 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 PM.