Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

CNG help/suggestions

Old 07-07-2014, 01:29 AM
bigred8080
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CNG help/suggestions

What's going on fellas?

Instead of hijacking the other CNG thread, I figured I'd start a new one.

I'm new to the idea of CNG. never even crossed my mind until I was bored the other day and started snooping around the alternative fuels section then googling from there and now I'm back here lol, with questions. Most have been asked before I'm sure.

The truck (08 mega, 8" lift with 37x13.50x20, black maxx) is my daily driver. I drive about 60 miles round trip Monday thru Friday. I used to get about 480 to a tank with averaged out to around 15 or so MPG. I recently replaced the tires and this kicked me back to 440 ish...yeah my old tires were pretty bald lol. My drive is 90% highway, 65-75 MPH. I just drove from tulsa to Houston and got 17.1 hand calculated on the first 340....little over half a tank.

I've "shopped" around some and have found a couple sites that have kits, both seem about the same, but the prices are quite different. One is 399 (cngedge) and 2 others one 500, the other like 1000 (mycngguy) I believe the difference in the two is one comes with a pyro and a more electronic set up the other doesn't. I also believe this is the difference in the two companies. My question is....which do I go with lol

I have also been tank shopping, both new and on eBay. eBay is chalk full of expired tanks, some pretty cheap. Idk, just seems like a gamble. But then again, new type 1s are like 800 for 5 GGE and type 4s..ha like 3200 .