Intergrated brake controller - DodgeForum.com


Notices

Dodge/Ram Diesel Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

Intergrated brake controller

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 02-25-2017, 04:39 PM
sheepdr1
sheepdr1 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Default Intergrated brake controller

I had a 2014 3500 dually. I could not get full braking on my 40' 5er with the integrated brake controller, put a Voyager in it, good brakes.
I bought a 2017 3500 dually. The brake controller worked as little as the one in the 14. Back to Dodge They installed a new switch, no help.
I had to make sure it wasn't in my trailer so I installed all new backing plates. No change. I completely rewired the brakes from the front to the brakes, testing voltage at each wheel, 12.8 to 12.4 drop. Hooked up to my new 2017 RAM, same as before. I do have a very little braking, I mean very little. The best I can get from the pickup is 7.6 with no change in the bulb test. The bulb in dim and will not change when the manual override is moved.
Dodge says that's the way it is supposed to be. I am a full time r v er and could not stay where the dealer was to argue with them anymore.
IS ANYONE ELSE HAVING THIS PROBLEM? I'm sure I didn't get the only 2 pickups that dodge made that has this problem. Please respond to this I'm going crazy.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2017, 07:56 PM
p38251
p38251 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vanderpool Texas
Posts: 1,968
Default

I run mine at 4.5 anything higher the trailer brakes lock up. On the highway I go down to 3.5. 4.5 in town and pulling thru the rv park.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2017, 06:10 PM
sheepdr1
sheepdr1 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p38251 View Post
I run mine at 4.5 anything higher the trailer brakes lock up. On the highway I go down to 3.5. 4.5 in town and pulling thru the rv park.
so your Brake controller that came in the truck does work?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2017, 07:58 PM
p38251
p38251 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vanderpool Texas
Posts: 1,968
Default

Yes. Very well. Check the fuses for trailer under the hood.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2017, 02:49 PM
p38251
p38251 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vanderpool Texas
Posts: 1,968
Default Brake controller

Something else I thought of. Depending on weight you will need to change from Light braking (default). To heavy.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 AM.