DodgeForum.com

DodgeForum.com (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/)
-   Dodge Ram Van (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/dodge-ram-van-100/)
-   -   3500 van ride height (https://dodgeforum.com/forum/dodge-ram-van/208098-3500-van-ride-height.html)

mrpulldown 07-20-2009 07:53 PM

3500 van ride height

2 Attachment(s)
Hi All, I just joined this forum so that i could get some Van info. A little background. I have been a shade tree mechanic my whole life. I think that I was taught to change my dad's cars oil at age six, and have been wrenching ever since.

My first experiance with Ram Vans was in 84 when my dad bought a Landmark converted van. I loved that thing. If that van could talk...

Fast forward 20 years or so. My buddy bought a Roadtrek converted 1994 3500 Ram Van. He was complaining about his suspension bottoming out, so I told him that I would take a look. I intially thought that he either had some bad ball joints or bushings, or that his shocks were blown. Well the shocks are new and his mechanic went through the suspension recntly and said everything was in good shape. Greased up all of the ball joint and steering linkages. I confirmed this with some simple inspections when I was jsut out there. One thing that I noticed was that the suspension appears to have sagged. I took some measurments and pictures which i can post upon request.

The travel between the bump stops is my main concern. There is about 1/2 an inch between the lower bump stop and the stop pad, whereas the upper bumper stop has a couple of inches. The ratio of bump travel compare to the droop travel is about 25/75, is this right. Most trucks seem to make this at least 50/50. Before I tell him that he needs to go get himself some new springs, i want to know what ya'll think.

MY question is what is the stock ride hight of a 94 one ton Ram Van. Measured from the center of the wheel to the edge of the fender.

Thanks guys.

mrpulldown 07-28-2009 01:53 PM

Bumpped thread. Does this forum bump threads?