Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

Thermoquad Nightmare, I officially need help

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2017, 03:34 PM
likestoparty
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thermoquad Nightmare, I officially need help

Good day, everybody! I'm in need of advice on what to do next from people who have been through where I am now. I am returning a 1980 Champion TranStar to life after 15 years of sitting. I bought it in (technically) running condition, but not roadworthy. I have extensive experience in Volkswagen Beetle restoration, 25+ years, this is my first American automobile. I should have just bought a Sherman Tank.

I'm on Day 4 of rebuilding the Thermoquad that when I started this would idle and run, had to be careful about acceleration or it would bog down with a huge sucking sound, but would not start without dumping a squirt of gasoline in the throat. Now I'm in the throes of psychological breakdown, partly from 4 days of inhaling noxious fumes and the situation getting worse and worse.

Day 2, cleaned thoroughly, new rebuild kit, got all the linkages figured out, all 10 main screws tight as Hell, gaskets coated in WD-40, manifold bolts tight as Hell, vacuum lines in decent shape, all hooked up, lost the dashpot adjustment screw but that was the only tragedy of the day. After minimal idle screw adjustment it started on its own for the first time! Problem was it still made that huge sucking sound if the accelerator was advanced too quickly. But when RPMs were in the operating range the engine was SUPER responsive, it sounded like a Formula 1 race engine.

I noticed the engine would behave beautifully if the choke plate was closed a little further than it was being directed to. But since my girlfriend can't always ride around with her pinkie on the plate in the passenger seat, I decided to take it off and really concentrate on the adjustment procedure.