Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Vans & CUVs > Dodge Ram Van
Reload this Page >

2000 1500 van cruise control installation

Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

2000 1500 van cruise control installation

  #1  
Old 05-10-2019, 10:28 PM
Detore344
Detore344 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Default 2000 1500 van cruise control installation

I have a 2000 1500 van with a 5.2. It did not come with cruise control. I found a similar era van at a local-ish Pick-n-Pull and took the clockspring, switches, vacuum actuator, and rear steering wheel cover. Installed all the components, and there is no cruise control. I may have taken for granted that just because everything plugs in, doesn't mean it'll work. Does anyone know if there are other components required? Does it require a different ECM? Is there a control module somewhere that I missed? There is a bulb in the instrument panel for it, but no light comes on. There is simply no function.
 
  #2  
Old 05-11-2019, 07:34 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 56,803
Default

I am pretty sure that yours should work the same way as it does on the trucks.... And on those, the PCM sends a five volt signal to the cruise switches, and gets a modified signal back, depending on which button (if any) you press. Then it just does what you told it to. PCM controls the servo. Now, does the PCM need to be clued in that you actually HAVE cruise control? I don't know..... Do you have the 'cruise' light in your cluster? Might try and run a cluster test, and see if that one shows up. (my guess would be 'no'.....)
 
  #3  
Old 05-12-2019, 11:48 PM
Detore344
Detore344 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
I am pretty sure that yours should work the same way as it does on the trucks.... And on those, the PCM sends a five volt signal to the cruise switches, and gets a modified signal back, depending on which button (if any) you press. Then it just does what you told it to. PCM controls the servo. Now, does the PCM need to be clued in that you actually HAVE cruise control? I don't know..... Do you have the 'cruise' light in your cluster? Might try and run a cluster test, and see if that one shows up. (my guess would be 'no'.....)
While doing various other things, I did pull the cluster, and there is a bulb in the cruise light spot, so in that case there is one. Whether or not it gets any signal from the pcm I don't know. I will try and get out to one of the dealerships and see if any of the parts guys I used to work with are still around, and see if they can give me any insight. Not sure if this van is new enough to require the pcm to be reflashed to activate something or not.
 
  #4  
Old 05-13-2019, 07:51 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 56,803
Default

Originally Posted by Detore344 View Post
While doing various other things, I did pull the cluster, and there is a bulb in the cruise light spot, so in that case there is one. Whether or not it gets any signal from the pcm I don't know. I will try and get out to one of the dealerships and see if any of the parts guys I used to work with are still around, and see if they can give me any insight. Not sure if this van is new enough to require the pcm to be reflashed to activate something or not.
Might be the Central Timer module as well??
 
  #5  
Old 05-14-2019, 03:28 AM
Detore344
Detore344 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Well,... since I don't know what that is, perhaps I will look into it! Thanks! I'll keep y'all informed as things move along.
 
  #6  
Old 05-14-2019, 07:26 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 56,803
Default

Ok, looking at wiring diagrams, CTM doesn't matter. Switches get power from the PCM, modify the signal, send it back to pcm. PCM directly controls the cruise servo. No intermediary system. Do you have power on the Dark Blue/Red wire at the servo? Should be a yellow/red wire on the brake switch, that is power feed FROM the PCM, changes to Dark Blue/Red wire going out to the cruise servo.
 
  #7  
Old 05-16-2019, 01:57 AM
Detore344
Detore344 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Default

That's actually some really useful information. I'll check it out next time I'm in there.
 
  #8  
Old 05-18-2019, 07:11 PM
Detore344
Detore344 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Default

I haven't checked for power yet. I need to get a power probe. Yeah,... I know. But I did stop at a local Dodge parts counter today. They told me my best bet was to take the computer out of the donor, etc, etc. Unfortunately, that van had a different motor, and quite frankly, at that point I assumed they didn't know what they were talking about. They said I had to reprogram the van to think it had the vin# from the donor, and since I know you can replace engine computers from working as a service manager for several years, that just didn't sound right. I have a feeling the computer has to be told to turn it on, but I don't have the necessary scan tool for that. I also would like to check with a couple different sources first. Thank you for the continued help. I'll keep things updated as I find out more.
 
  #9  
Old 05-18-2019, 07:30 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 56,803
Default

Its only going to be like 5 volts, so, a volt meter would be better than a test light. You can get just a cheap one. Digital or analog, doesn't matter.
 
  #10  
Old 05-20-2019, 10:06 PM
Joe King
Joe King is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 11
Default

I did this conversion on my 1994 van, should have done it so much earlier! I also had a 3 speed transmission originally and converted it to a 46rh and got tired of the silly kit shifting into OD and lock up. I bought a pcm that was for a pickup with the same trans and it had cruise. I few months later a van came in the yard that I was able to yank the the servo, steering wheel, BRAKE SWITCH, very important! My van was actually all wired up already for cruise control, fuse and all was installed. Plug and play at the servo, clock spring was already installed and wires in the pcm already there too! Good luck, this is one of my favorite conversions I have done!
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 2000 1500 van cruise control installation


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: