Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Vans & CUVs > Dodge Ram Van
Reload this Page >

Stalling at red light

Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

Stalling at red light

  #11  
Old 06-12-2019, 10:26 AM
alloro
alloro is offline
Van & CUV Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,662
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

What's the fuel pump pressure?
Was it really only 6-months it sat or could it have been longer, making the gas closer to a year old?
 
  #12  
Old 06-12-2019, 01:50 PM
BruceF
BruceF is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gas age

Gas could be a year old. But customer treated the fuel woth Sta-bil fuel stabilizer. Not sure if that makes a difference.
 
  #13  
Old 06-12-2019, 01:52 PM
BruceF
BruceF is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel pump pressure

Fuel pump was replaced 1 year ago when he was having related issues by another mechanic. OEM parts were used-not aftermarket.
 
  #14  
Old 06-12-2019, 02:00 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 57,731
Likes: 0
Received 36 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Fuel stabilizer doesn't always work.... Year old gas is going to be nasty, regardless of what he put in it..... How much gas does it have? Have you added any more? Burned thru much?
 
  #15  
Old 06-12-2019, 03:04 PM
BruceF
BruceF is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gas age

Put in 10 gallons yesterday. It had a quarter tank before that. I had suspected bad gas yesterday and put the 10 gallons in after resetting the PCM and test driving it. Am getting ready to test drive it again right now after unplugging the front O2 sensor.
 
  #16  
Old 06-12-2019, 04:38 PM
BruceF
BruceF is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default O2 sensor disconnect

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
Just a shot in the dark.... Have you tried disconnecting the front O2 sensor, and driving it that way? Does it still stall?
Disconnected the front O2 sensor as you suggested. Drove van for 1 hour in stop and go. Stalling has stopped
Should i replace the sensor or does this indicate another problem.
Thanks very much.
 
  #17  
Old 06-12-2019, 06:07 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 57,731
Likes: 0
Received 36 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Replace the sensor. NTK, or Denso sensors ONLY please. Skip Bosch, these engines don't like 'em.
 
  #18  
Old 06-12-2019, 08:00 PM
peppster66
peppster66 is offline
Amateur
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

how would the o2 sensor make the van stall,does it make the van run too rich,and then just shut off, Ive not heard of this before,,,,
 
  #19  
Old 06-12-2019, 08:42 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 57,731
Likes: 0
Received 36 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

O2 sensor measures oxygen in the exhaust stream. If it becomes inaccurate, the PCM starts basing injector pulse on bad information, and you get odd problems. Removing the O2 sensor from the equation, and the stalling stops, indicates that the O2 sensor has indeed failed, the PCM just can't figure that out. O2's have MANY failure modes that WON'T set a code. Without it, the PCM tends to run the engine a bit on the rich side, so, you get rough idle as well. There may also be other issues contributing to the problem..... When's the last time the engine had a tune up? How are the cap and rotor? Plug wires? Are they routed per the TSB?? (a good set of plug wires will alleviate some of the issues the TSB addresses, it was all about cross-talk on the wires, and firing the wrong cylinder at the wrong time.....)

Replace the sensor, reset the PCM so it forgets everything it learned with the bad O2 sensor, and let it relearn. If everything else is up to snuff, it *should* take care of the problem.
 
  #20  
Old 06-12-2019, 09:02 PM
peppster66
peppster66 is offline
Amateur
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I never knew that , thank you very much for that reply, Iím always learning something new here,,,,thanks,,,
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Stalling at red light


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: