Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

Reverse takes 10 seconds to engage

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2019, 08:04 PM
Greyson Queen-Gene
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reverse takes 10 seconds to engage

Haiiii. I'm pretty new to fixing vehicles, but I'm trying to learn! My 1998 Ram van 3500 has a couple issues, one of which being that reverse takes almost 10 seconds to engage! I've added more transmission fluid and my next step is changing the transmission filter. Is there anything else that people might suggest? Thanks in advance! ❤️❤️

Old 07-15-2019, 09:59 AM
alloro
Van & CUV Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 70 Likes on 66 Posts

Originally Posted by Greyson Queen-Gene
I've added more transmission fluid
Adding more is not the same as adding enough. Did you check the fluid level with the engine warm and running in Park?

Old 07-15-2019, 03:15 PM
Greyson Queen-Gene

Originally Posted by alloro
Adding more is not the same as adding enough. Did you check the fluid level with the engine warm and running in Park?
I'll double check, but yes, with the engine running and warm I check the transmission fluid and it seemed to be in the "safe" area.

Old 07-15-2019, 07:18 PM
Widebody
Rookie

I'll double check, but yes, with the engine running and warm I check the transmission fluid and it seemed to be in the "safe" area.
You should check the level when the transmission is up to operating temperature and in neutral with parking brake on. If it is just reverse, have you checked to make sure the parking cable is lined up properly at the gear shift and transmission? Can you move the gearshift past reverse just slightly prior to neutral and see if it engages?

Old 07-15-2019, 08:36 PM
SteveR
Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post