Sending Unit? - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram
Reload this Page > Sending Unit?
Notices
Dodge Ram The full size truck that leads the way in innovative and unique styling, the Dodge Ram. With best in class available horsepower, the Dodge Ram out runs any competitor.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sending Unit?

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 01-11-2005, 12:12 PM
white_mts
white_mts is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 21
Default Sending Unit?

Hello,
Can anyone tell me where exactly is the sending unit and what does it look like on my 94 RAM 5.9L? I am getting fluctuating oil pressure and I have read in other threads that it is most likely the sending unit. Also is it difficult to change?

Thank you,
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2005, 04:07 AM
Hemipower04
Hemipower04 is offline
Professional
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 111
Default RE: Sending Unit?

i dont know about the ram but a sending unit is usually for the gas. It is the gas tank and look kinda like an L. Im not sure for the oil though.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2005, 12:24 PM
white_mts
white_mts is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 21
Default RE: Sending Unit?

According to some of the other posts there is a sending unit for the oil gauge that is located near the distributor cap. I was wondering where exactly it is and what does it look like. If anyone has changed one is it a tough job?

Thanks,
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2005, 12:30 PM
Snafu
Snafu is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LeRoy, Mi
Posts: 1,632
Default RE: Sending Unit?

Yah, there is a sending unit for each gauge. I've never done one on a Ram, but it's always been easy on everything else. I know it's absolutely BURRIED back there, and it's a bitch of a spot to get to. Might be easier to do it from underneath if you can get around the transmission. Definately check the electrical connector for corrosion first.

Here's a pic of it-

 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2005, 03:43 PM
white_mts
white_mts is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 21
Default RE: Sending Unit?

Snafu,
Thanks a lot; at least I know what it looks like now. Sorry for the stupid question but I'm having trouble getting my bearings in the picture. What angle are we looking at?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2005, 03:51 PM
CumminsGal21
CumminsGal21 is offline
Captain
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 570
Default RE: Sending Unit?

I have a 96 Ram Diesel. I've had to replace the OSU twice now. I don't know if it's bad wiring or what. Anyways. Mine is underneath the engine. It's a pain in the a$$ to get to. I've found that it's easier for me to go from the top...lil hands and arms. You might have to go through the bottom though. I know my part only runs aobut 30.00. I also got a print out of where exactly it's located from the local autozone. Hope that helps. Once you find it...it should only take about 20 mintues to get it in and out.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2005, 04:00 PM
white_mts
white_mts is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 21
Default RE: Sending Unit?

Thank you Cumminsgal21. The dealer wanted $36 and AutoZone wants about $28. This ought to be a fun job with the snow and rain up here in MA. I need a garage!
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-2005, 04:15 PM
CumminsGal21
CumminsGal21 is offline
Captain
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 570
Default RE: Sending Unit?

The first time I had to replace mine it was snowing...so I know how you feel. Just try not to get snow down your shirt or pants...that sucks. Good luck with it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-2005, 04:51 PM
Snafu
Snafu is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LeRoy, Mi
Posts: 1,632
Default RE: Sending Unit?


ORIGINAL: white_mts

Snafu,
Thanks a lot; at least I know what it looks like now. Sorry for the stupid question but I'm having trouble getting my bearings in the picture. What angle are we looking at?
That picture was taken from under the truck, looking at the back of the engine with the transmission removed. Just to the left of the sending unit is the distributor cap. You'll find the sending unit between the distributor and the passenger side cylinder head, right on the back of the engine block. It's a littler harder on the gas motors than on the Cummins because the intake sticks up so far on top of the gas motors. It's a MAJOR pain just to change the distributor cap and plug wires. There is NO room.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-12-2005, 04:54 PM
CumminsGal21
CumminsGal21 is offline
Captain
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 570
Default RE: Sending Unit?

No room huh?? Yet another reason I have my Cummins. Before this one I had a 97 Ram 2500 with a 360.... Absolutely no room in there.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Joe.G
3rd Gen Ram Tech
10
10-17-2015 07:17 PM
Joe Sciborr
2nd Gen Durango
2
09-28-2015 07:28 PM
Douggro
Dodge Stratus
1
09-23-2015 03:33 AM
jnschnit
3rd Gen Durango
3
09-18-2015 04:51 PM
Douggro
Dodge Stratus
5
09-12-2015 06:23 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 PM.