Dodge Stratus The Dodge Stratus. Whether you've got a sedan or coupe, base model or R/T, theDodge Stratus has winning looks and thrilling performance.

99 stratus crank no start

Old 12-27-2011, 11:54 PM
06whitedak
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 99 stratus crank no start

hey guys. dakota guy working on a stratus. anywho my brother in-laws 99 startus died on him. he told me he was sitting at a stop light. light turned green he went and started to loose power and car shut off. had it towed to my house. car cranks but doesnt start. im a mechanic. but i dont know much about these particular cars. im going to check for fuel and spark in the morning. just wondering if there is any common things i should look for? thanks for any advice in adavanced

Old 12-30-2011, 09:19 PM
06whitedak
Rookie
Default Update!!

well im at a loss. upon diagnosis i found 5 out of 6 spark plug holes full of oil. so first thing i did was replaced the spark plug hole gaskets and plugs and wires. from there i have no spark and no fuel. which doesnt make much sence to me. all fuses and relays test good. when i turn the key forward to accessory mode i hear the fuel pump turn on like normal. however i have no fuel. i have no spark so possibly distributor but im thinkin there is something elce going on to have no fuel and no spark. any advice would be great. thank you

Old 12-31-2011, 12:02 AM
steak59
Record Breaker
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

What engine size?
What about Check engine light? No code stored?
crank sensor, maybe? check RPM on scanner data while cranking.

Old 12-31-2011, 12:05 AM
06whitedak
Rookie

Originally Posted by steak59
What engine size?
What about Check engine light? No code stored?
crank sensor, maybe? check RPM on scanner data while cranking.
its the 2.5l v6 and i wish i could bring the scanner home from work. that would make it alot easier.

Old 01-11-2012, 10:17 AM
ElJay744
Unhappy 1997 Stratus ES Stalling - crank, no spark