Dodge Stratus The Dodge Stratus. Whether you've got a sedan or coupe, base model or R/T, theDodge Stratus has winning looks and thrilling performance.

'98 Stratus Intermittent Stalling

Old 05-22-2015, 10:48 AM
Mealticket
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '98 Stratus Intermittent Stalling

Newbie here. My '98 Stratus is stalling when cold, usually at the first place I stop. It always restarted and then was OK, no problem when it warmed up. Then I had a couple of scares on the freeway, about a 10 mile trip. It cut out twice for a few seconds on the freeway but then caught again and kept going. It then stalled at a couple of lights in but after that made it home OK.

Scanned it, no codes stored but 3 onboard tests not ready - 'readiness not complete' - EVAP, catalyst, and O2. Used the live data and the O2s look great, throttle position sensor moves up in an orderly fashion when you rev. ECT seems to heat up properly. My tech guru says that when OBDII re-runs tests like above it may be getting ready to throw a code. So if we get a code that's great but in the meantime want to be ready. I also plugged in a fuel pressure tester and got 50 psi at idle. Anyway, I'm thinking maybe CPS? Any ideas would be appreciated.

MT

Old 05-22-2015, 10:41 PM
Mealticket

Forgot to clarify, this has the 2.4 engine,

MT

Old 06-22-2018, 05:14 PM
dchaloux
Banned

Really? 3 years and not a single answer? Yikes.

Old 06-22-2018, 08:49 PM
Mealticket