Go Back  DodgeForum.com > The DF Lounge > Off Topic
Reload this Page >

Arduino or low cost OBD1 scanners?

Off Topic A place to boldly go off topic. Just about anything goes.

Arduino or low cost OBD1 scanners?

Old 07-10-2019, 11:04 AM
niceoldram
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Arduino or low cost OBD1 scanners?

Hi, not sure where to ask this but I wanted to make the request as widely general as possible, so apologies to the mods for posting here.

I would like to get an OBD1 scanner that does live codes and does not cost an arm and a leg.

Anyone have links to a low cost commercial scanner for OBD1 Dodge/Chrysler vehicles? It seems nuts that I could get an OBD2 scanner for under $80 but an OBD1 starts at $300.

If not, I have been programming professionally for 40+ years but electronic hardware is not my forte. I am well versed in programming the Arduino range of micro-controllers and would like to join forces with someone who can handle the electronics side.

Let's make an Open Source OBD1 scanner that can be built for $25 and put it all on github for anyone to use.

Old 07-10-2019, 02:02 PM
HeyYou
Super Moderator
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts

There is various software packages available for OBDI, and with the right cable, you can talk to the PCM. The "if" there, is the "mask" file, that tells the software what everything in that data stream means... and for the Chrysler products, those are difficult, if not impossible, to find. Your best bet might be looking for something like a Snap-On MT2500 on ebay.... yeah, they run north of 300 bucks with all the cartridges, but, they will do quite a bit as well.

Might check out Craig Motes site too. He deals with mostly GM stuff, don't know if he has mask files for the chrysler or not.....

Old 07-10-2019, 03:31 PM
niceoldram