4th Gen Ram Tech 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Rear Differential Change Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2015, 11:24 AM
5.7x28mm
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Differential Change Questions

Hi guys,

Haven't been on here in a long time, and I apologize if this is a constantly-repeated question.

I have a '09 Ram 1500 with about 29K miles, was always my weekend truck (had a work truck I drove most of the time), until recently. So, now that the truck is 6 years old, I figure it's about time to change the rear diff fluid.

I've never done it before, but changing the rear diff fluid seems straight-forward. I have a couple of nit-picky questions, though, and you guys seem to be the experts. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Question #1) I splurged and decided to buy an after-market diff cover. It happens to have an o-ring where the gasket should go. There seems to be a conflict of opinions as to whether I should use the o-ring or not. So, do you guys think I should just use the included o-ring, just chuck the o-ring and use RTV, or use both the o-ring and some RTV together?

Question #2) If you think I should use RTV gasket maker (with or without the o-ring) - am I supposed to using the "Hi-temp" Red RTV or the "Oil Resistant, Advanced Formula" Black RTV? Or am I over-thinking it, and it doesn't really matter which one I use?

Thanks very much for any help.

Old 10-31-2015, 02:40 PM
jasonw
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 21 Likes on 11 Posts

I have always been told use RTV Black for the differential. I have read where the fluid will eventually eat through other types of RTV.