1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

1988 3.9L Backyard Salvage

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2017, 10:00 PM
Rugash
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1988 3.9L Backyard Salvage

Alrighty, i'm a newbie on here, a Learning backyard Mechanic, and in general I've got little knowledge on trucks, But heres the project I've picked up

Now, i've already done some work, I've redone the brake lines, replaced the brake booster, master cylinder, and reservoir.....

now, i when i first got this truck, i was considering making it track worthy, but after getting it back on the road and driving it for a while, the damned thing is slow as hell, any suggestions on what to do? or should i abandon that and just go for a restoration

Old 06-26-2017, 08:02 AM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 334 Likes on 298 Posts

Well, it's a V6. So.....depends on what your usage of the truck will be.

Old 06-26-2017, 10:26 AM
onemore94dak
Record Breaker
Received 131 Likes on 123 Posts

I don't think it will be a racer unless you rebuild and lighten the truck. I just logged in because that top radiator hose caught my eye. I'd replace it with one that has a proper bend in it soon. That restricted flow of the forced bend might cause an overheat or worse.

Old 06-26-2017, 10:54 AM
RalphP
Champion
Received 368 Likes on 340 Posts

"She sounds hideous." "Well, she's a he, so ... "

To make it trackworthy, I'd first pull that windshield and fix the rust and rot at the top of it and the top of the cab.