1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

help blower not blowing 1992 D150

Old 06-19-2018, 05:19 PM
RM-D150
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help blower not blowing 1992 D150

Very hot here air conditioner was working until today. Compressor comes on so I am pretty sure it is the blower. I have read maybe the resistor I am not good with the multimeter electrical testers. What would anybody recommend please send advice thanks I have done lots of do it yourself projects just not good with the multimeter

Old 06-19-2018, 05:40 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,164 Likes on 2,918 Posts

Does the blower work on any speed? Use your meter, and see if you are getting power TO the blower motor.

Old 06-19-2018, 10:50 PM
crazzywolfie
Legend
Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts

i would start by testing to make sure power is getting to the heater fuse with the ignition on. does the fan work on the vent or defrost option? there is 2 separate blower motor speed circuits through the blower motor resisters. also have you tried running power straight to the fan to make sure the fan itself hasn't died?

Old 06-20-2018, 12:20 PM
RM-D150
Amateur

Thanks for all of the advice I tried to check to see if I could find fuse NO tried to unplug the fan where there was a wire connection close to the fan I unplugged the connector and stuck two hard copper wires in and then tried to get a light to come on connected to the two wires this did not work at all Under the dash I found a black thing with two rows of male connectors maybe relay or something anyway I disconnected that by using a screw driver between the two sides and then plugged back in and fan blower started to work HOORAY thanks for all of your advice

Old 06-20-2018, 05:45 PM
crazzywolfie
Legend