1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

Strange Fuel Problem, I think.....

Old 01-13-2019, 08:02 AM
yarddogg77
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Strange Fuel Problem, I think.....

I have an 89 Dakota, 3.9 fuel injected and it has a weird problem. I twill start just fine in the morning when it is cold, it will start just fine when it's warmed up, but for some reason if it sits there for 10 hours when I'm at work, it doesn't want to start. It acts like it's flooded. How can a fuel injected vehicle get flooded? The other day my battery was almost drained from cranking. It finally started when I held it to the floor. I haven't had this truck long and I have other stuff to drive, I'm just looking for brainstorming right now and to learn about the fuel system on it. I'm not that good at working on fuel injection. The PO said the fuel tends to siphon back into the tank when it sits. Things are not adding up to me with this issue.

Old 01-13-2019, 09:28 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,171 Likes on 2,924 Posts

Holding the pedal on the floor will put the PCM into 'clear flood' mode, and it dramatically dials back on how much fuel it feeds. I would be tempted to plug in with a scanner that can read live data, and see what the PCM thinks engine temp is when it doesn't want to start, and compare that to actual temp.

Old 01-13-2019, 11:25 AM
yarddogg77

Originally Posted by HeyYou
Holding the pedal on the floor will put the PCM into 'clear flood' mode, and it dramatically dials back on how much fuel it feeds. I would be tempted to plug in with a scanner that can read live data, and see what the PCM thinks engine temp is when it doesn't want to start, and compare that to actual temp.