1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

What to do with my 1978 Dodge W150

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2015, 12:14 PM
SeanWimbush
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to do with my 1978 Dodge W150

Hey i was wondering if any of you guys could offer me some advice?

So i just bought a 1978 dodge w150 360/727 trans 4x4, for 2400. When i bought it i knew that it had a tranny leak and the seal needed to be replaced. So i have dropped the tranny and t-case and pulled out the motor. I am at a point where i am not sure what to do with it. I could just rebuild the origional motor and tranny, motor cause it needs gaskets etc. but i would really like to but a 12v cummins in it.

Im a student and sort of on a budget, so any suggestions. Would it cost alot more to put a 12v in it v.s rebuilding the old 360 bomb/vise versa

Old 01-01-2015, 07:03 PM
HillBillE
Professional

Originally Posted by SeanWimbush
Hey i was wondering if any of you guys could offer me some advice?...........

Im a student and sort of on a budget, so any suggestions. Would it cost alot more to put a 12v in it v.s rebuilding the old 360 bomb/vise versa
My advice would be to stick with what you have, either rebuild/replace but keep the drivetrain.

First consideration, when you figure the costs for a major mod, you should always double it (if not triple the amount) because it always costs more in the end,

Second consideration: Weight.

The 12V weighs around 400 pounds more than your 360, and is a lot of weight on a 1/2 ton.

A 4BT would be a better option for a Diesel in a 1/2 ton.

Having done some drivetrain swaps and a lot of mods, my advice is to keep it simple for now.