a604 41TE 2003 dodge neon transmission rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2014, 12:55 PM
RyanGrant
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a604 41TE 2003 dodge neon transmission rebuild

Hi guys,

I'm going to give rebuilding my transmission a shot..I'm strapped for cash currently and the transmission shop wants what they say will most likely end up costing $2000-2500 and could even hit $3000. I'm in Canada so we pay a bit more for labour hours and parts compared to if I got it done in the states for I'm guessing $1500-2200.

I've never done this before, I've redone a few things on my car before and not really afraid to get into technical things as long as I do my research I'm generally fine.

so far I've found out that the 2003 dodge neon SX 2.0 automatic uses a industry standard a604 41TE transmission that uses ATF+4 fluid.

I've found this rebuild PDF:
http://www.uscars.biz/uscars/extras-...Procedures.pdf

I was wondering if anyone can confirm my findings just to ensure I'll be following the right path..

I would like to be able to rebuild this within a week(that includes any parts I have to have shipped to me) so realistically a rebuild time of a few days since I'll be using my fathers garage and he doesn't want his garage taken up for too long, plus I would like to be driving again sooner rather than later. However safety and reliability come first. I'm willing to spend the money on some tools that I don't have or rent them if they're too expensive to buy.

I wanted to try to put together a tutorial/guide of some sort as I rebuild this to help out others on the forum. I find the industry tries to make transmission servicing/rebuilding sound like an impossible task for the layman mechanic. I don't doubt their complexity but know that others are able to do this job at home so I'd like to give it a try and show others to not be afraid to give it a go as well.