Installing Front Shocks, Do I need to remove shock tower? - DodgeForum.com


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Installing Front Shocks, Do I need to remove shock tower?

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 06-23-2009, 07:44 PM
peterfromme's Avatar
peterfromme
peterfromme is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northwest PA
Posts: 65
Default Installing Front Shocks, Do I need to remove shock tower?

First, I did search through this forum on replacing shocks...and now I'm confused. It seems some people are suggesting that to replace the front shock I will need to remove the shock tower.

But, other people are suggesting that this is not necessary, and all I will need to do is grip the front of the top shock bolt to unbolt the shock.

Lastly, some websites that sell shocks also sell shock towers for pretty cheap, should I have got those too?

Please advise...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2009, 08:01 PM
Linustratus
Linustratus is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 107
Thumbs up shock tower

Yeah, take it off(with it off, thats how the old and new ones come out and go in), but unbolt the old shock first, then take the bushing and washer off, and it should push up. It can be a pain in the ***, but the nuts have tabs welded on them to make it easier to replace on the lower end of it. dont get the shock tower mounts, waste of money. you can just clean up the old ones and paint em if youd like!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2009, 08:13 PM
Miami_Son
Miami_Son is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,816
Default

You do have to remove the tower to get the shock out, but loosen the shock top nut beforehand. There should be a flat on the end of the shock shaft. You can put an adjustable wrench on it to stop the shock body from spinning while you loosen the top nut.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2009, 11:33 PM
hometheaterman's Avatar
hometheaterman
hometheaterman is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,154
Default

I must have removed them. Since they are saying that you have to. I kind of think I did but not 100% sure and thinking back I'm not sure how you would get the shock out without it. It's easy to remove.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2009, 11:35 PM
hutch1973
hutch1973 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Green Bay WI
Posts: 706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheaterman View Post
I must have removed them. Since they are saying that you have to. I kind of think I did but not 100% sure and thinking back I'm not sure how you would get the shock out without it. It's easy to remove.
I agree, just did mine a month or two ago, and I took mine out. Only 3 bolts a side, and I don't think you could get the shocks out without removing them.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
oxymoron29
Archived Classifieds
1
09-07-2015 07:00 PM
mcfarl58
3rd Gen Durango
5
07-23-2015 04:09 PM
bchapin05
3rd Gen Dakota
8
07-21-2015 04:46 PM
roadhammer1971
2nd Gen Ram Tech
16
07-07-2015 12:12 PM
kenb1023
2nd Gen Ram Tech
2
07-06-2015 01:44 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send